Maybank Malaysian Open 2014

The Maybank Malaysian Open is one of the few international golf tournaments held in Malaysia. This annual event is among the most prestigious ones which is recognized in the international golfing calendar which attracts some of the best golfers around the world to Malaysia.

The Maybank Malaysian Open has a rich history in the sport in which Maybank, the largest banking group in Malaysia is the title sponsor. This tournament dates back to the 1960s where the title has been won by some of the top golfers including former World No.1 Vijay Singh.

For 2014, the Maybank Malaysian Open will be held between 17th and 20th April at the Kuala Lumpur Golf and Country Club in Kuala Lumpur. As part of the European Tour event, the Malaysian Open forms an integral part of the calendar for the golfers who are aiming to improve their rankings. As the Maybank Malaysian Open is part of the European and Asian Tour schedules, this tournament becomes all the more important.

In 1962, the then Malayan Open was the first sports event that offered prize money for the winners in the country. The Maybank Malaysian Open is the first tournament to be co-sanctioned by both the European and Asian Tours, a milestone for the event in 1999.

In the 2013 edition, KiradechAphibarnratfrom Thailand won the championship. It was his first European Tour title where he won by one stroke against Edoardo Molinari. He became the fourth golfer from Thailand to win on the European Tourwhile 18-year old Korean Seung-yul Noh won the Maybank Malaysian Open in 2010 and became the youngest golfer to clinch a European Tour title.

For 2014, the KLGCC will be hosting this tournament for the fourth time having been playing the role since 2010. The Maybank Malaysian Open was held at other prestigious golf clubs around the Klang Valley with the Royal Selangor Golf Club having hosted the most times between 1962 and 1982 and several other times after that. Meanwhile, other venues that have been used previously include The Mines Resort and Golf Club, the Saujana Golf and Country Club, Templer’s Park and the Kota Permai Golf Club.

Date: 17th – 20th April 2014
Venue: Kuala Lumpur Golf and Country Club