Malaysian Golf Tournaments

Selangor Masters

selangor masters

Selangor Masters was inaugurated in 2008 and saw participation from Malaysian rising golfers such as Iain Steel, Danny Chia and Airil Rizman Zahari, among others. This was one of the prestigious tournaments of the Asian Tour which is held in Malaysia.

Selangor Masters among highest prize winnings

Started out in 2008, the tournament is played at the Seri Selangor Golf Club. Among the regional tournaments, the Selangor Masters has quite a high standing in terms of winning prize which is at RM1,300,000.00. During the inaugural round, local golfer Ben Leong emerged the champion. Then, it was known as the Worldwide Selangor Maters.

After that, the tournament changed its name to Worldwide Holdings Selangor Masters. In 2009, Australian Rick Kulacz won the tournament followed by Filipino Angelo Que a year later. Joonas Granberg of Finland took home the trophy in 2011 before Thaworn Wiratchant won it in 2012.

Thailand continued to win the honours in the next 2 years with Pariya Junhasavasdikul and Chapchai Nirat winning the 2013 and 2014 respectively.

The 2013 round was seen as one of the most pressure-packed year as Thai golfer Pariya emerged as champion. He managed a 5-foot par save at the last hole to win the tournament that year. Pariya who was 29 years old then won the RM1.2million tournament coming from 3-years without any wins.

He then won the Masters in style after completing the last hole by a solitary stroke. That ended his frustration where he beat India’s Anirban Lahiri by 1 hole followed by Baek Seuk-Hyun of South Korea.